Mumbai wins fifth IPL title, beats Delhi by five wickets

Mumbai Indians has been crowned Indian Premier League Champions for the fifth occasion after Mahela Jayawardene’s side defeated Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the finals of the 2020 edition of the IPL in Dubai.

Earlier in the evening, Delhi captain Shreyas Iyer won the toss and elected to bat first in favorable conditions.

However, Delhi lost wickets at regular intervals and managed to post only 156 for the loss of seven wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Skipper Iyer topped scored for the Capitals with an unbeaten 65 off 50.

Rishabh Pant contributed with 56 off just 38 deliveries and the pair put on 96 for the fourth wicket.

For Mumbai Trent Boult picked up 3 for 30 while Nathan Coulter-Nile had figures of 2 for 29.

Mumbai showed their intent clear from the outset as they were chasing a record extending fifth IPL.

Skipper Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock raced to 45 in just four overs before the South African was dismissed for 20.

Sharma went on to score 68 off 51 and ensured his side will retain the trophy they won last year at home.

Flamboyant Ishan Kishan played a cameo scoring 33 in just 19 deliveries and helped Mumbai cross the line in 18.4 overs.

Anrich Nortje picked up 2 for 25 for the Capitals but finished second best in the finals.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top
$(".comment-click-2754").on("click", function(){ $(".com-click-id-2754").show(); $(".disqus-thread-2754").show(); $(".com-but-2754").hide(); }); // Infinite Scroll $('.infinite-content').infinitescroll({ navSelector: ".nav-links", nextSelector: ".nav-links a:first", itemSelector: ".infinite-post", loading: { msgText: "Loading more posts...", finishedMsg: "Sorry, no more posts" }, errorCallback: function(){ $(".inf-more-but").css("display", "none") } }); $(window).unbind('.infscr'); $(".inf-more-but").click(function(){ $('.infinite-content').infinitescroll('retrieve'); return false; }); $(window).load(function(){ if ($('.nav-links a').length) { $('.inf-more-but').css('display','inline-block'); } else { $('.inf-more-but').css('display','none'); } }); $(window).load(function() { // The slider being synced must be initialized first $('.post-gallery-bot').flexslider({ animation: "slide", controlNav: false, animationLoop: true, slideshow: false, itemWidth: 80, itemMargin: 10, asNavFor: '.post-gallery-top' }); $('.post-gallery-top').flexslider({ animation: "fade", controlNav: false, animationLoop: true, slideshow: false, prevText: "<", nextText: ">", sync: ".post-gallery-bot" }); }); });