Mahela Jayawardena inducted to the ICC Hall of Fame

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena, England’s Janette Brittin, and South Africa’s Shaun Pollock have been added to the ICC Hall of Fame.

These legends will be formally inducted by fellow ICC Hall of Famer, Sir Clive Lloyd at the final between New Zealand and Australia tomorrow before the game gets underway at the Dubai International Stadium.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket’s long and illustrious history. 106 players have been inducted since its launch in 2009, with Brittin, Jayawardena and Pollock as the latest inductees celebrated.

The new inductees played in 284 Tests, 814 ODIs and 67 T201s between them.

Mahela Jayawardene retired as one of Sri Lanka’s greatest ever players, a key member of the team that won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2014 and reached four other major ICC finals.

Mahela Jayawardene commented: “I am thrilled to have been inducted into the ICC Ha of Fame. It’s a very special honour to follow in the footsteps of legends Sanga and Murali from Sri Lanka and so many other great cricketers of the past. I am very grateful for the recognition and would like to enjoy and share the moment with all those that have helped me on my journey, including my family, friends, coaches team-mates and, most importantly, Sri Lanka cricket fans who passionately supported and inspired me during my career”.

A giant of Sri Lankan cricket, Jayawardena played 652 international matches, comprising 149 Tests, 448 ODIs and 55 T20Is. Only India’s Sachin Tendulkar played more international matches, pipping the Sri Lankan by 12 games.

A classy right-hander who scored runs relentlessly and captained his nation superbly, Jayawardena’s 149 Tests are the most by a Sri Lankan, as are his 448 ODIs (12,650 runs at 33.37, 19 centuries) where globally only Tendulkar (463) played more matches.

He is Test cricket’s ninth greatest run-scorer with 11,814 to his name at an average of 49.84, making the sixth most Test centuries in the format’s history. Among his 34 centuries is the famous 374 – Test cricket’s fourth-highest score – he made in the midst of a record-setting 624-run stand with close friend Kumar Sangakkara against South Africa in 2006.

A two-time Cricket World Cup runner-up, Jayawardena made a dashing 103 in the final of 2011.

Denied men’s ODI cricket’s most cherished trophy twice, he was also part of the Sri Lankan sides that finished second in the 2009 and 2012 T20 World Cups. In 2014 he finally got his hands on some long-awaited silverware, carried off the field on the shoulders of his teammates as he won the T20 World Cup final in his last appearance in the format.

He bowed out of international cricket the following year at the end of Sri Lanka’s Cricket World Cup 2015 campaign.

An all-rounder in the truest sense of the word, Pollock scored 7386 runs and took 829 wickets in international cricket.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top
$(".comment-click-4562").on("click", function(){ $(".com-click-id-4562").show(); $(".disqus-thread-4562").show(); $(".com-but-4562").hide(); }); // Infinite Scroll $('.infinite-content').infinitescroll({ navSelector: ".nav-links", nextSelector: ".nav-links a:first", itemSelector: ".infinite-post", loading: { msgText: "Loading more posts...", finishedMsg: "Sorry, no more posts" }, errorCallback: function(){ $(".inf-more-but").css("display", "none") } }); $(window).unbind('.infscr'); $(".inf-more-but").click(function(){ $('.infinite-content').infinitescroll('retrieve'); return false; }); $(window).load(function(){ if ($('.nav-links a').length) { $('.inf-more-but').css('display','inline-block'); } else { $('.inf-more-but').css('display','none'); } }); $(window).load(function() { // The slider being synced must be initialized first $('.post-gallery-bot').flexslider({ animation: "slide", controlNav: false, animationLoop: true, slideshow: false, itemWidth: 80, itemMargin: 10, asNavFor: '.post-gallery-top' }); $('.post-gallery-top').flexslider({ animation: "fade", controlNav: false, animationLoop: true, slideshow: false, prevText: "<", nextText: ">", sync: ".post-gallery-bot" }); }); });